Back and making pancakes

Standard

I have been so poorly but thankfully feel so much better now.I had a viral infection and a chest infection. I have not been out except dragging myself round the supermarket this week. I have done very little of anything but have managed to watch a film I had been looking forward to.

The boy next door.

2438_FPF_00069R.jpg

Neglected by her adulterous husband and left feeling particularly vulnerable as her marriage crumbles, lonely teacher Claire (Jennifer Lopez) has an affair with a younger neighbour (Ryan Guzman) that turns terrifying as his fiery lust morphs into dangerous obsession. John Corbett, Ian Nelson, and Kristin Chenoweth co-star.

I thought this was a really good film,it was a little predictable but has a few unexpected twists and turns. I do like Jennifer Lopez films , I will give it 8/10.

It is Shrove Tuesday and I have made some batter mix which is resting in the fridge I have also got some ready made ones just in case my batter is a fail.I know it is just a basic batter but believe me if it can be ruined I will be the one to do that, I will post pictures tomorrow of my pancakes.

My bathroom was delivered last weekend minus my shower screen,the bath and tap waste and a fixing kit for the loo I think, I rang Victoria plum and they were great they had the missing items shipped the next working day, I need this bathroom mine is very dated now and I managed to crack the sink, I dropped a small single bud vase that I had paid just £1 for from Ikea ,the vase had a thick rim which when dropped into the sink managed to smash a hole and large crack in the sink but the vase remained intact,also we got up one morning to a leak in my laundry which is right above my bathroom the cod water pipe connected to the loo had been leaking there was water running from my light fitting and the floor was flooded. I am looking at showers and tiles this weekend and then it is all systems go.

I am currently reading The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern and I am sad to say am not getting on with it at all, I decided to keep going and at one point I thought it wasn’t that bad and persevered but it just isn’t my thing, I love her writing style but sadly the story is just not my cups of tea. I have read some great reviews, I am looking forward to her next book.

I have not seen any of my friends for a few weeks and am looking forward to catching up with then over the next week, one of my friends is getting married in may and I am helping with a few things and another friend and her two daughters has just moved house, it is only a few minutes from where she used to live but it is a new and exciting chapter in her life, I have only seen pictures of her new house and am looking forward to having a good nose around. I haven’t seen any family because John and I have been so sick we didn’t want to pass it on to anyone, I have missed the kids and catching up with my friends, John was off yesterday but I did manage to get a few things done, I have been playing catch up the last few days because I have had no energy at all. I lost 7.5lb in a week but I am sure now my appetite is back with a vengeance that weight will go straight back on. I am enjoying my vegetarian lifestyle and have not missed meat at all, I do eat fish for now and I even had fish chips and mushy peas on Friday as I was so hungry. I am being careful and have not had the energy to exercise at all,now I feel better I am going to get on with my walking and hopefully shift a few pounds but the end of the month. January was all a bit of a blur in this house with us being ill so I do not want to waste any of February, we have had a few Birthdays and luckily I was prepared. I was going to venture out yesterday but the weather was horrid so I decided against walking around town and popped to see my Mum and Dad instead. They are both well, my mum has more tests coming up, she should have her own chair or bed in the hospital bless her, she looked quite well, she has been told that her shaking (head and hands) isn’t Parkinson’s which is what we thought she may have but it is a degenerating of the blood vessels in her brain,she has several mini strokes and has Epilepsy too. She is bent over and has curvature of the spine,3 fractures in her spine and Rheumatoid Arthritis, she has had her Gaul bladder removed last year too.She has a lot to deal with, my dear Dad is a tower of strength and is taking excellent care of her. She has had a few months of really good health considering last year she was in and out of hospital.

Today has been cold but sunny and I can’t wait for the spring I cant wait to be able to sit in the garden or take the dog for long walks and go and feed the ducks with the Grandchildren without having to dodge the rain.

I have been watching loads of You tube whilst wrapped in a blanket on the sofa  ,far better than boring TV but saying that one of my favourite TV shows Stella has returned for a 5th series and Happy Valley the 2nd series starts again tonight. I like crime drama and have also been enjoying Vera another crime drama on Sunday evenings. I do love a good TV drama, I do not watch any soaps they are all so depressing.

If you are making pancakes today I hope they were yummy as I hope mine will be. Photos tomorrow,good or bad!

Thanks for popping by, Dawn x

 

 

3 thoughts on “Back and making pancakes

please leave a comment

