Christmas prep

Standard

I am sorry to be the bearer of bad news if you are not a fan of Christmas /Christmas prep,but it is just 79 days until Christmas day,yes you did read that correctly 79 days!

So far I have

*written my gift list

*written my card list

*written my meal plan from Christmas Eve until new years day

*written a food/drinks shopping list (using above meal plans)

*written a non food list

*decided on decor ,not changed my decor but will add a few items if I see anything I like,my themes are as follows. living/dining room traditional red,green and gold decor,items I have collected since leaving my parents,items from the kids childhood etc. My kitchen has a gingerbread/baking theme,I have gingerbread men ornaments on door handles,I have a gingerbread men worktop saver,I decorate my baking trolley with Christmas themed baking items.My front door has a wreath with a snowman on it ,I have had it years so won’t be changing that yet. I do need some indoor lights for my mantle and a set of outside lights for the front of the house.I dot more tea lights and candles around the house ( not when the Grandchildren are here I have battery lights for then).

*I have a wooden advent with little drawers and when I know the children are coming I put little sweets and notes,watch a x mas film with popcorn or make a x mas card for a friend etc and if it is just John and I on a certain day I put little treats or things to do just us, I have always done it and we love it.I have started looking for ideas and putting them in my notebook.

*I have started a makes and bakes ideas list and am adding to it as I find things on Pinterest (it is growing rapidly) I won’t make everything I see but will keep the ideas and recipes for the next few years.

*I have started an events/things to do list and will add to it once I know what we will be doing, It will just be John and I this year,I like going late night shopping and stopping for a hot chocolate,seeing a Christmas film,going to a church service and Christmas fair,plus school events as I am a member of the PFA and fund raise all year,I also attend the carol services and nativity etc and usually serve refreshments at the events.

*I have started buying cards for the family and will buy boxed cards for neighbour’s etc.(this weekend)

Gifts so far

not putting who and cost just in case

Cosy Coupe sit and ride pink car

Large dolly that can have her hair styled

A set of David Walliams kids books

A light up scooter

A drawing projector

A frozen themed art set

A Monster High (freakier style barbie style doll)

A Monster high braid kit ( for making hair braids or bracelets)

A planner

3 smellies sets ( various)

2 tins of celebrations

we are doing some birthday and Christmas shopping again this weekend.I am going to Boots to take advantage of the 3 for 2 offers and will cross quite a few gifts off my list then. I have already had a look in there and have decided what to get ahead of going to buy them.

I have yet to buy children’s wrapping paper and am using my brown paper theme again for the adults this year as I love brown paper.

I have de cluttered the upstairs and most of the downstairs and have sorted my wardrobe and written a list of new items of clothing I need, I got some new ankle boots last weekend as they were on top of my list.

*Given John my list, I give him a list of things I would like and then he can chose a few and then get me a little surprise,we don’t go OTT as we cant really afford to be.My list includes a paperchase personal planner (cheaper version of a filo fax) but I love them and have never had a paperchase one.I adore paperchase! I am into planners and am trying to combine mine into one decent planner.A list of books,some beauty products and a few bits and bobs like fluffy socks,posh chocolate’s etc I will be visiting paperchase this weekend with John so will be dropping a huge hint about the planner I want.

John doesn’t give me a list,he says every year he doesn’t want anything ! so his are all a surprise.

We have a lost of jobs on the house to do but won’t be finishing them before Christmas , one being a new bathroom,we only have one and the sink has a chip in it and the bath has seen better days, I can’t wait to rip it all out!.

All in all I am on target to having all of my gifts bought and wrapped by the end of November.

I love knowing I am done and can enjoy the run up to Christmas and I know I have only the food to get, I can relax and not having to run around like a headless chicken, we are on a budget and we  save all year until now so we have the funds to be able to have a few Christmas shopping spree’s,guilt free. I pick up bargains too in the sales leading up to Christmas to put up for Birthdays in the new year. I usually buy my cards in the sales and I have no clue why I didn’t last year.

It is my Parents Wedding Anniversary on January 2nd so i always organise a family meal and am looking for somewhere to book.

How are your plans coming along? how do you plan and shop for Christmas?

x Dawn

2 thoughts on “Christmas prep

  1. Dawn, I have only recently found your website through reading mrsmmeanderings. I love reading your posts and am sitting in hot sunshine on holiday reading your Christmas prep post which has had me wishing it was snowing and I was drinking a hot chocolate!. I also love Christmas and have bought about 80% of my presents too. I look forward to
    more of your Christmas posts and hopefully some photographs.

    Like

    • Dawn Hall

      Thank you for the lovely comment, last years Christmas prep posts are still on my blog and pics too, I will be posting a lot about Christmas prep and will take pics along the way. I will pop over to your blog now,very jealous of the sunshine, I haven’t got warm since coming back from Tenerife in September !

      Like

please leave a comment

