Pinch punch first of the month

Standard

I can’t quite believe it but it is the first of September today,where has the time gone? I don’t have children at home but have Grandchildren and they are preparing to go back to school this week. We have lots of decorating projects to start or get finished (hope you are taking note John) and I have need to organise the house a little better, it is by no means a tip but there are certain places that always seem to get cluttered, we recently cleared out the loft and John is in the middle of clearing out the garage and I am amazed at the “stuff” we chose to keep.I have around 10 boxes of “stuff” we are taking to a car boot sale next weekend and what I can’t sell will be going straight to the charity shop, it felt so good putting things in boxes knowing they will soon be gone and we have an empty loft.

I have started de -cluttering the living room, well the sideboard as that is the only place that has “stuff” in it, when looking through the items I keep in there I found odd batteries, buttons that had fallen off clothing and picked up and put in the drawer,scraps of paper with scribbled numbers and doodling on and why they were kept I have no idea. Just rubbish really. Now the four draws are all neat and tidy and each one has a purpose. I love a room to be clean and tidy and am looking for a nice shallow basket to keep my remote controls together at the moment, II will keep it on the shelf on my coffee table,the table is in the garage at the moment it was a skip find,it was in perfect condition and is solid wood but has a very dark stain,and is waiting to be painted white with chalk paint as I love the shabby-chic look, I am waiting to go and get three different colours of chalk paint and finishing wax in a few weeks when funds allow and I can start on my paint projects.I have a collection of throws and blankets and would love a really nice basket to keep them in, I had a little blanket basket sometime ago it was made from a strong cardboard covered in fabric, it looked nice but my Grandson sat on it and one of the sides collapsed so ended up in the bin and I have not got round to finding a replacement yet.

download (3)  I need a pretty basket like this for my throws and blankets.

Today I am tackling the kitchen cupboards and I know I will regret starting it but know I will love it when it is all organised. I have a lot of baking trays and have to get John to do this for me asap,what a fab idea as I am always scrambling around trying to find a certain tray from the back of the cupboard.

 

 

download (4)

Whist looking for storage ideas I was in TK Maxx on Friday and they have a great collection of perspex make up organisers that are perfect for all sorts of stuff,nail polish,pencils etc, they would be great for your dressing table drawer or make up cupboard, prices start from around £5.I will have to get some when it is time to tackle my bedroom.

images (1)

I am off to tackle the kitchen, I have less storage now it is a kitchen/diner so it helps to be tidy and organised.Once it is tidy I will give the cupboard doors a good clean, I have a cream units and they really show up grubby marks. I am planning to strip the wallpaper on the end wall and paint the whole room a soft duck egg blue,one of my favourite colours at the moment.

I will see you at the other side x Dawn

5 thoughts on “Pinch punch first of the month

  1. I haven’t heard that expression (pinch and a punch’ for quite a few years. Wouldn’t be encouraged in the schools here – would be seen as encouraging rough behaviour. Didn’t do this 72yr old any harm though lol
    I tend to think ‘stuff’ is like wire coat hangers – it breeds in the dark!
    Cathy

    Like

  2. Dawn Hall

    Cathy, I read it on someone’s status and I had to use it, I agree all too p.c if you ask me! I am beginning to be quite ruthless where de-cluttering is concerned and feel better for it. We keep so many things and I was once quite a horder and collected stuff and kept stuff “just in case” but a switch has flipped and I am now quite the opposite.John has made quite a few trips to the charity shop lately. Have a good day x Dawn

    Like

  3. I have several projects going on all over the house at the moment. Moving objects from one room to a different use in another. I hope it all comes together, and doesn’t end up looking like a bomb went off. 🙂 I have to work for the rest of the week (outside the home), so I don’t think a whole lot will get done at home this week.

    Like

    • Dawn Hall

      Good luck with it,we have quite a lot to do to, I start something and wish I hadn’t but it is worth it in the end : )

      Like

please leave a comment

