The big 50 !

Standard

So on Saturday I celebrated the big 50 ! I had lots of cards and messages from family, old friends and new. I had some wonderful gifts including, book mark in the shape of a handbag, a lovely pen, key ring,cardigan,necklace,cd,Soap and Glory smellies ( body butters, body spray and perfume) a cake,money,a shopping trip and lunch with my Mum,a watch,chocolates,a balloon and numerous I am 50 badges ,some eye serum,a bottle of pink champagne, a supreme spa day (love that John) a weekend of lunches,a Birthday dinner and the one I was most excited about, a vintage style shopper bike from my boys,

My beautiful bike from my boy's

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I can’t wait to ride it, they think it is funny and wanted me to have a mountain bike, no way ! this is perfect for nipping to the shops and picking Emily up from school and now John is getting a bike so we can go on bike rides when the weather is nice.
 
I was dreading being 50, do not know why, just the thought of being older I suppose, of course age is just a number and you are as old as you feel and all that, but does this mean I will have to grow up and act my age?
My Birthday celebrations started on friday when John took me to the Cotswolds which is a beautiful part of the country and just an hour and half drive from us, we went to Bourton on the water and the town has a stream running right through the centre of the pretty village, I love all things vintage and I was in heaven there, pretty homeware shops full of the latest vintage trends, I got some painted wooden hearts for Emily’s room and a little white bear covered in hearts to go on her shelf.  we had a wander round the village and then had lunch in the Croft restaurant,I had a lovely chilled glass of  Savignon blanc, and later had a drink in a village pub and watched the American and Chinese tourist snapping away at the stream and little bridges that are at the heart of Bourton.

Bourton on the water

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Croft where we had lunch

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

last day of my 40's , I detest having my picture taken!

 
 

A shop selling Christmas decorations all year round

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 On Saturday after opening all of my cards and gifts John made me a yummy breakfast, muffins, smoked bacon and egg , it was very nice, I had a few visitors, family and a few friends and we had a quiet afternoon, and we then got ready to go out for my Birthday meal. John had booked a table at the Wheel on the Bridgenorth road. We chose potato cakes topped with chorizo and warm tomato salsa on a bed of watercress salad followed by rib eye steak, vine roasted tomatoes,garlic roasted filed mushrooms salad and chunky fries, john is not a dessert person so I had white chocolate profiteroles filled with Chantilly cream, dusted with dark chocolate , I drank white Zinfandel, the meal was delicious.
When we returned home we went to bed with a bottle of pink champagne but only managed one glass each we were so stuffed from the meal! what a lovely day.
On the Sunday we drove to Worcestershire where we did some shopping had lunch and had a walk around the historic town before going home to pick up Alfie who had been staying at my parents for the weekend.
 
We have had a very rough year and John had been saving most of the year to pay for my Birthday weekend which is why we did not stay in the Cotswolds for the entire weekend as we had planned as it would have been too expensive to do but my 50th Birthday could have not been any better, I spent it with John and I am very lucky to have this wonderful man , he has been through hell and back but has always tried so hard to provide for us and I am proud to be his wife. We have been together since I was 16 and married 5 years later, he is a lovely man and has made my Birthday so special , I love him dearly.
 
Thanks for taking the time to read my post
x Dawn
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
please leave a comment

