The humble sandwich and homemade soup

Standard

After eating my tuna,sweetcorn and mayonaise on crusty bread I was thinking of the different kind of sandwiches I ate , when you think of a sandwich do you think of a thin slice of ham slapped between 2 slices of white sliced or chargrilled vegeatbles and brie on granary? there are so many possibilities , I love multigrain bread with  caramilsed onion mayonaise,rommaine lettuce, bbq chicken and sliced tomato it is a tasty,filling sandwich, I also love a strong cheddar and branston pickle on crusty sliced bloomer. I love the little cottage rolls with a nice wafer thin ham and salad.   My Husband loves BLT on white bread and if we are out and grab a sandwich he often orders that.

We sometimes have a soup and sandwich lunch and I love the hot,hot soup with a cold sandwhich. If you are lucky enough to have a bakers nearby you can get a variety of breads and I love trying new breads and different fillings and now the weather is or shall I say should be getting warmer I shall be eating a lot more sandwich lunches and will be experimenting so watch this space.

I make my own soup and my current favourite is butternut squash and red pepper soup it is thick and smooth and very warming.It is so very easy to make  here is the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 15ml (1 tbsp) olive oil
  • 30g (1 oz) butter
  • 1 onion, peeled and chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 900g (2 lbs) butternut, peeled and sliced
  • 2 red peppers de seeded and sliced
  • 900ml (1½ pints) vegetable or chicken stock
  • salt and freshly ground pepper
  • Creme fresh and parsley for garnishing
    1. Heat the oil and butter in a large saucepan, add the onion and garlic and gently sauté.
    2. When the onion has softened after about 5 minutes, add the butternut  squash red peppers and stock and stir well. Bring to the boil. Simmer for 25 minutes or until the butternut is soft.
    3. Blend the soup with a hand-held blender. Season to taste and garnish with creme fresh and  parsley.
    serve with crusty bread

    Be back soon Dawnx

     
     
     
    please leave a comment

    